Science and Mathematics Education: Welcome

Comparing Ethnographies presents cross-national comparisons that give researchers and students a fresh look at familiar concepts. How does it matter, for example, to think in terms of ""majorities"" rather than ""minorities"", ""migrants"" rather than ""immigrants"", or ""intercultural education"" rather than ""multicultural education""? How does indigenous education or the work of teachers look different to ethnographers from differnt countries of the Americas? This engaging new volume includes essays from experts throughout the Americas that help readers understand and learn from ethnographic educational research conducted across the Western Hemisphere, and also includes a practical guide to finding the relevant literature.

The fifth edition of the Handbook of Research on Teaching is an essential resource for students and scholars dedicated to the study of teaching and learning. It offers a vast array of topics ranging from the history of teaching to technological and literacy issues. In each authoritative chapter, the authors summarize the state of the field while providing conceptual overviews of critical topics related to research on teaching. Each of the volume's 23 chapters is a canonical piece that will serve as a reference tool for the field. The chapters, all broad treatments of areas of study, will help readers see how particular areas of research connect with the larger issues of teaching and teacher education. The handbook provides readers with an unaparalleled view of the current state of research on teaching across its multiple facets and related fields.

In this age of genetic engineering and global warming, it is more important than ever to understand the history and current trends of science and technology.With so much information out there, though, it's hard to know where to start.That's where The History of Science and Technology - the most comprehensive and up-to-date chronology of its kind -- comes in. From the first stone tools to the first robot surgery, this easy-to-read, handy reference book offers more than seven thousand concise entries organized within ten major historical periods and categorized by subject, such as archaeology, biology, computers, food and agriculture, medicine and health, materials, and transportation.You can follow the world's scientific and technological feats forward or backward, year by year, and subject by subject.Under 8400 BCE Construction, you will discover that the oldest known wall was built in Jericho.Jump to 1454 Communication and you will learn about Johann Gutenberg's invention of movable type.Take an even larger leap to 2002 Computers and find out about the invention of the Earth Simulator, a Japanese supercomputer.The History of Science and Technology answers all the what, when, why, and how questions about our world's greatest discoveries and inventions: How are bridges built? When were bifocal eyeglasses invented and by whom? What medical discovery led to the introduction of sterilization, vaccines, and antibiotics? What is the PCR (polymerase chain reaction) process, and why is it one of the pillars of the biotechnology revolution? Not only can you discover how our world came to be and how it works, but with cross-referenced entries you can also trace many intricate and exciting connections across time.Highly browsable yet richly detailed, expertly researched and indexed, The History of Science and Technology is the perfect desktop reference for both the science novice and the technologically advanced reader alike.

Interest in Mathematics and Science Learning is the first book to assemble findings on the role of interest in mathematics and science learning. As the contributors illustrate, interest provides a critical bridge between cognition and affect in learning and development. This book will be useful to educators, researchers, and policy makers, especially those whose focus is mathematics, science, and technology education.

Science and technology education research, influenced by inquiry-based thinking, not only concentrates on the teaching of scientific concepts and addressing any misconceptions that learners may hold, but also emphasizes the ways in which students learn and tries to find out avenues to achieve better learning through creativity. New developments in science and technology education rely on a wide variety of methods, borrowed from various fields of science, such as computer science, cognitive science, sociology and neurosciences. This book presents papers from the first international conference on "New Developments in Science and Technology Education" (1st NDSTE) that was structured around seven main thematic axes as follows: Modern Pedagogies in Science and Technology Education; New Technologies in Science and Technology Education; Assessment in Science and Technology Education; Teaching and Learning in the Light of Inquiry Learning Methods; Neuroscience and Science Education; Conceptual Understanding and Conceptual Change in Science; and Interest, Attitude and Motivation in Science.This book explores the beneficial impact of pedagogically updated practices and approaches in the teaching of science concepts, and elaborates on future challenges and emerging issues that concern science and technology education. By pointing out new research directions, this book will inform educational practices and bridge the gap between research and practice, providing new information, ideas and perspectives. It will also inform, as well as promote, discussions and networking among scientists and stakeholders from worldwide scientific fields, such as researchers, professors, students, and companies developing educational software.

Includes 21 competencies/skills found on the TExES Mathematics 8-12 test and 125 sample-test questions. This guide, aligned specifically to standards prescribed by the Texas Department of Education, covers the sub-areas of Number Concepts; Patterns and Algebra; Geometry and Measurement; Probability and Statistics; Mathematical Processes and Perspectives; and Mathematical Learning, Instruction and Assessment.

This exceptional book encompasses the entire range of writing skills that today's experimental scientist may need to employ. Detailed chapters cover every type of science writing, from routine forms, such as laboratory notes, abstracts, and memoranda, to the more complex writing required in dissertations, journal articles, and grant proposals. Using numerous extended examples, the book offers students and professionals alike the thorough, practical advice they need to optimize the effectiveness of their written communications. Robert Goldbort discusses how best to approach various writing tasks as well as how to deal with the everyday complexities that may get in the way of ideal practice--difficult collaborators, experiments gone wrong, funding rejections. He underscores the importance of an ethical approach to science and scientific communication and insists on the necessity of full disclosure. For working scientists, those seeking employment in the sciences, students taking on writing assignments or oral presentations, and professionals who hope to publish or acquire funding, this volume is an essential resource.