LibGuides: Chemistry: Welcome

Electronic Books

Chemistry by Nora Henry
ISBN: 9781471863493

Publication Date: 2016-04-26

If your students struggle with changing the subject of an equation or drawing tangents to find rate of change, this is the book for them. This textbook companion will help improve their essential maths skills for chemistry, whichever awarding body specification you're following. You can use it throughout the course, whenever you feel they need some extra help. - Develop understanding of both maths and chemistry with all worked examples and questions within a chemistry context - Improve confidence with a step-by-step approach to every maths skill - Measure progress with guided and non-guided questions - Understand misconceptions with full worked solutions to every question - Feel confident in expert guidance from experienced teacher and examiner Nora Henry, reviewed by Paul Yates, Strategic Academic Development Adviser at the University of Chester and author of the mathematics skills column for the Royal Society of Chemistry magazine 'Education in Chemistry'
The 100 Most Important Chemical Compounds by Richard L. Myers
ISBN: 9780313080579

Publication Date: 2007-08-30

What is a chemical compound? Compounds are substances that are two or more elements combined together chemically in a standard proportion by weight. Compounds are all around us - they include familiar things, such as water, and more esoteric substances, such as triuranium octaoxide, the most commonly occurring natural source for uranium. This reference guide gives us a tour of 100 of the most important, common, unusual, and intriguing compounds known to science. Each entry gives an extensive explanation of the composition, molecular formula, and chemical properties of the compound. In addition, each entry reviews the relevant chemistry, history, and uses of the compound, with discussions of the origin of the compound's name, the discovery or first synthesis of the compound, production statistics, and uses of the compound.
1001 Chemicals in Everyday Products by Grace Ross Lewis
ISBN: 9780585230245

Publication Date: 1999-01-01

There is a virtual laboratory of chemicals in the food we eat and the products we encounter every dayat home, at school, and at work. What are these substances and how are they used? How are they helpful? Can they be harmful? Here are fast, hands-on answers to these and other crucial questions about hundreds of chemical substances we come into contact with on a regular basis. From MSG in food to perchloroethylene in dry cleaning, this AZ guide provides clear, no-nonsense information on the use and health effects of hundreds of chemicals found in food, medicines, cosmetics, cleaning solutions, lawn and garden products, and more. Well-organized and easy-to-use, it gives you the help you need to make smarter choices about the products you choosefor yourself and your family. Inside 1,001 Chemicals in Everyday Products you'll find: -Entries listing products, uses, precautions, and synonyms -Direct answers to over 250 frequently asked questions on everyday chemicals -Handy product and chemical synonym indexes -A nationwide listing of Poison Control Centers
Writing for Science by Robert Goldbort
ISBN: 9780300132939

Publication Date: 2008-10-01

This exceptional book encompasses the entire range of writing skills that today's experimental scientist may need to employ. Detailed chapters cover every type of science writing, from routine forms, such as laboratory notes, abstracts, and memoranda, to the more complex writing required in dissertations, journal articles, and grant proposals. Using numerous extended examples, the book offers students and professionals alike the thorough, practical advice they need to optimize the effectiveness of their written communications. Robert Goldbort discusses how best to approach various writing tasks as well as how to deal with the everyday complexities that may get in the way of ideal practice--difficult collaborators, experiments gone wrong, funding rejections. He underscores the importance of an ethical approach to science and scientific communication and insists on the necessity of full disclosure. For working scientists, those seeking employment in the sciences, students taking on writing assignments or oral presentations, and professionals who hope to publish or acquire funding, this volume is an essential resource.

Databases

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
American Chemical Society Journals

ACS Publications manages the scholarly publishing program of the world’s largest and most influential scientific society.
Dissertations & Theses @ Southern University and A&M College (ProQuest)
Dissertations & Theses is a service made available exclusively to universities whose graduate students actively publish their doctoral dissertations and/or master's theses with ProQuest Dissertation Publishing. Dissertations & Theses @ accounts provide participating universities and their campuses with: Free access to citations of dissertations and theses written by your graduates and published with ProQuest Dissertation Publishing, Free access to abstracts, when available (1980 and forward for doctoral dissertations; 1988 and forward for master's theses), Free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available (generally, 1997 and forward)
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.
E-Journals

EJS can help you quickly find the articles you need to get your research papers and other assignments done in record time. EJS puts your library�s e-journals acquired through EBSCO in a single place on the Web, so you don't have to jump to different Web sites to find the articles you need.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

This growing subscription package contains a wide selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
Science & Technology Collection
Science Direct
ScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.
SciFinder
Covering advances in chemistry and related sciences over the last 150 years, the CAS content collection empowers researchers, business leaders, and information professionals around the world with immediate access to the reliable information they need to fuel innovation.