LibGuides: Archives & Manuscripts Department: Archives Mission Statement

Mission Statement

Mission Statement

The mission of Southern University and A&M College, Archives and Manuscripts Department is to serve as the final repository for all the historical records of Southern University and A&M College.

Manage information resources created by or about the University in support of administration, teaching, research and service.
Assist the University in the overall aspects of appraising and managing records through their life cycle.
Collects, organizes, and preserves records of enduring value in all formats created by administrators, faculty, students and alumni.
Supports research and teaching by making available and encouraging the use of its collections by the Southern University community and the public.
Provides information services which support University administrators in performance of their duties; and promotes knowledge and understanding of the history, programs, and goals of Southern University and A&M College.

Archives & Manuscripts Department: Archives Mission Statement

Mission Statement

Manage information resources created by or about the University in support of administration, teaching, research and service.

Assist the University in the overall aspects of appraising and managing records through their life cycle.

Collects, organizes, and preserves records of enduring value in all formats created by administrators, faculty, students and alumni.

Supports research and teaching by making available and encouraging the use of its collections by the Southern University community and the public.

Provides information services which support University administrators in performance of their duties; and promotes knowledge and understanding of the history, programs, and goals of Southern University and A&M College.