LibGuides: Marketing: Periodicals & Databases

Suggested Marketing Journals

All journals listed on the suggested maketing journal list can be found at John B. Cade Library.

Journal of Marketing
Coverage: 1936-2007 (Vols. 1-71)
Links to External Content: 2008-2013 (Vol. 72, No. 1 - Vol. 77, No. 1)
Published by: American Marketing Association
Journal of Marketing Research (JMR)
Coverage 02/01/1964 to present.
Journal of Consumer Research
Coverage: 1974-Present (Vols. 1-)
Published by: The University of Chicago Press
Journal of Retailing
Publisher: Elsevier Science (All journals by publisher)
ISSN:0022-4359 (Paper)
Subject: Commerce
Journal of the Academy of Marketing
Coverage includes 03/01/1994 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
*Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Marketing Science
Coverage:01/01/1982 to present (with a 60 Month delay)
*Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Harvard Business Review
Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration. Coverage 10/01/1922 to present
Journal of Advertising
Provides a public forum that reflects the current understanding of advertising as a process of communication, its role in the changing environment, and the relationships between these and other components of the advertising business and practice. Coverage 03/01/1972 to present.
Journal of Advertising Research
Seeks to act as a research and development tool for professionals in all areas of marketing including media, research, advertising and communications. Coverage: 03/01/1965 to present.
Management Science
Coverage: 1954-2007 (Vols. 1-53)
Links to External Content: 2008-2013 (Vol. 54, No. 1 - Vol. 59, No. 3)
Published by: INFORMS
Management Science
Coverage: 1954-2007 (Vols. 1-53)
Links to External Content: 2008-2013 (Vol. 54, No. 1 - Vol. 59, No. 3)
Moving Wall: 5 years What is the moving wall?
JSTOR Subjects(s): Business, Management & Organizational Behavior
JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences IV Collection, Business I Collection, For-Profit Academic Arts & Sciences IV Collection, For-Profit Academic Business I Collection
Published by: INFORMS
ISSN: 00251909
E-ISSN: 15265501
Journal Description
Management Science is a cross-functional, multidisciplinary examination of advances and solutions supporting enhanced strategic planning and management science. Includes relevant contributions from diverse fields:
Accounting and finance
Business strategy
Decision analysis
Information systems
Manufacturing and distribu
Journal of Personal Selling and Sales Management
Original articles and research selected through blind review that advances knowledge in the areas of personal selling and sales management aimed at aggressively forging bonds and bridging gaps between sales practitioners and academics. Coverage: 09/01/1980 to present.
Journal of Public Policy and Marketing
Publishes articles, review articles, commentary and book reviews on a wide variety of subjects that apply to advertising, populations, legal developments and public policy in marketing. Coverage: 01/01/1982 to present.
Journal of Public Policy & Marketing
Publishes articles, review articles, commentary and book reviews on a wide variety of subjects that apply to advertising, populations, legal developments and public policy in marketing. Coverage: 01/01/1982 to present.
Journal for Advancement of Marketing Education
Features articles on teaching, research & service as related to marketing professional positions.
Psychology and Marketing
Original research and review articles dealing with the application of psychological theories and techniques to marketing; exploration of issues of law, ethics and values in psychology and marketing, case studies and cross-cultural reports. Coverage: 03/01/1984 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
*Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Sloan Management Review
Refereed articles, commentary and reviews by management academics, consultants and practitioners on what's most useful in current management theory and practice and cross-functional perspectives on management issues written for professional managers. Coverage: 09/01/1996 to 09/02/2004.
Journal of Business Research
Coverage: V.1(1973-present).
Journal of International Business Studies
Coverage: 1970-2009 (Vols. 1-40)
Links to External Content: 2010-2012 (Vol. 41, No. 1 - Vol. 43, No. 9)
Published by: Palgrave Macmillan Journals
Journal of International Business Studies
Coverage: 1970-2009 (Vols. 1-40)
Links to External Content: 2010-2012 (Vol. 41, No. 1 - Vol. 43, No. 9)
Moving Wall: 3 years What is the moving wall?
JSTOR Subjects(s): Business
JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences IV Collection, Business I Collection, For-Profit Academic Arts & Sciences IV Collection, For-Profit Academic Business I Collection
Published by: Palgrave Macmillan Journals
ISSN: 00472506
E-ISSN: 14786990
Journal Description
Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS) is a refereed journal that publishes the results of social science research and other types of articles that advance the understanding of business. JIBS' audience consists of scholars in universities and research institutes, as well as officials in private sector and pu
Industrial Marketing Management
Coverage 1971-present.
California Management Review
Focused on bridging communication between those who study management and those who practice it. Coverage:09/01/1958 to present.
Business Horizons
Original articles of interest aimed at academicians and practitioners of business, often with broad economic, social or political implications. Coverage: 03/01/1965 to 11/01/2001.
Journal of International Marketing
Publishes articles aimed at both practitioner and educator audiences covering international marketing practice and theory through original research articles, executive insights, and book reviews. Coverage: 03/01/1993 to present.
Journal of Consumer Psychology
Coverage: 1992-present.

How to Access Periodicals

To find electronic journals on campus

Go to the library's website https://www.subr.edu/library
Locate FIND
Click on Articles and Databases
Select Databases A to Z
Scroll down and locate the alphabet bar
Select the database of your choice
Click on on-campus

To find electronic journals off-campus

Go to the library's website https://www.subr.edu/library
Locate FIND
Click on Articles and Databases
Select Databases A to Z
Scroll down an locate the alphabet bar
Select the database of your choice
Click on off-campus
You will be prompted to login
Enter your USER ID= Banner Identification Number (Example: U01234567)
PIN=CHANGEME

To find periodicals using the online catalog

Go the library's website https://www.subr.edu/library
Locate FIND
Click on Books and Journals
Locate and click on periodical title
Click on Search

Remember: Electronic journals will have an URL that links you to the full-text periodicals

Print periodicals will contain call numbers. You can find periodicals in the library based on the first letter of the call number.

1st Floor Reference Books (Ref.)
2nd Floor Call Numbers A-H
3rd Floor Call Numbers J-P
4th Floor Call Numbers Q-Z

If you have any questions, or experience problems logging on please contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841.

Suggested Databases for Marketing

Click here for a complete list of databases

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
eBook Business Collection

EBooks are selected for this collection to assist students and scholars with various business research, special projects, and entrepreneurial needs, and to help students understand general business concepts. The eBook Business Collection encompasses a variety of business topics, such as marketing, finance, supply chain management, and entrepreneurship, with additional focus on career growth, personal development, communication, and networking.
Ebsco Discovery Service
EBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
Nexis Uni
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
Regional Business News
This resource provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. Key resources include newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires, with full-text content coverage spanning over 22 years. Content Includes:Full-text for 106 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications,Full-text coverage dating back to 1990.
Science Direct
ScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.