Archives, Manuscripts and Rare Books Department (AMRBD)

Harpers Weekly Journal and Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper - Harper's Weekly, a new era in American journalism dawned in the 1850s with the advent of magazines and newspapers that combined general-interest content, and lavish illustrations. Its context of escalating sectional animosity over slavery inhibited the newspapers coverage and undermined the potentially unifying character of a nationwide audience.

HBCU Library Alliance - A Digital Collection Celebrating the Founding of Southern University and A&M College. It is the first gateway to major historical and illustrative resources about the institution. Photographs, manuscripts, event programs, and a plethora of other documents can be found on this site.

Verla Birrell was born on November 24, 1903 in Tacoma, Washington to James Walter and Elfie Naylor Birrell. Birrell taught art, design, textiles, and related subjects at junior highs, high schools, BYU 1937-48 and the University of Utah 1948-72. She traveled extensively, was engaged in archaeological research. She was a member of the American Anthropological Association, Society for American Archaeology, National League of American Pen Women, Omnicron Nu, Associated Utah Artists, Alpha Delta Pi, Alpha Beta Theta, Readers Guild, Alice Louise Reynolds Club, and Acanthus Club.

The LOUISiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library containing photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more that document Louisiana's history and culture. Libraries, museums, archives, historical groups, and other institutions across the State contribute materials to the LDL. This state-wide digital library is used by anyone with access to the internet and an interest in the materials.

A collection of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. The collection includes photographs, university correspondence, manuscripts, images of campus buildings, alumni letters, memorabilia, and programs from campus events.

A Digital Collection Celebrating the Founding of Southern University and A&M College. It is the first gateway to major historical and illustrative resources about the institution. Photographs, manuscripts, event programs, and a plethora of other documents can be found on this site.