Archives & Manuscripts Department: About Archives

Archives (3rd Floor)

The Southern University Archives Department serves as the official repository for records of Southern University and A&M College. Its mission involves identifying, acquiring, managing, and preserving university records of enduring value. The department is committed to making these records available for use, adhering to policies approved by the Southern University Board of Supervisors, administration, and faculty.

The holdings of the Southern University Archives encompass a wide range of materials, including official records and reports of the university, its officers, and component parts. Additionally, it includes private papers of faculty, students, staff, and alumni, official and student publications, audiovisual materials such as still photographs, negatives, oral history interviews, and audio and video tapes. The collection also features artifacts and ephemera that collectively document the rich history of Southern University.

Mechanical Building

Working on a research assignment?

Preparing a class session for students to use primary sources?

Not sure where to go? 

Southern University Archives and Manuscripts  Department provides vibrant sources with which to conduct research and engage classes using original sources.

Contact the Archives and Manuscripts to help you get started using our collections and staff expertise:

University Archives: Please contact staff in advance at archives@subr.edu for access to archival materials or research assistance.  

Archives, Manuscripts & Rare Books Department

Service Desk Telephone Number: (225) 771- 2773

Angela Proctor - Direct Office Number:  (225) 771-2624

CLICK HERE TO SEARCH ArchiveGrid

Monday-Friday 8:00 am-5:00 pm

Closed Weekends

NEW

ArchivEra

Is a complete archives collection management solution and integrated portal application which helps to make archival collections widely accessible to users, supporting research, and preserving records for the future.

ArchivEra allows the Southern University and A&M College, Archives, Manuscripts and Rare Books Department to offer public portal access to collections, provide more in-depth documentation about each object, artifact or collection (delivering multimedia content).  It also allows the Archives Department to effectively manage collections, build an imaginative web presence, engage and inspire visitors, and attract donors.

Here you can find archival collections from the Archives, Manuscripts and Rare Books Department such as:  Denver Smith and Leonard Brown Collection (S&B), The Home Fires, The Southernite and an original set of Slave Narratives.

Please continue to check here often as more collections will be added. For more information please email:  archives@subr.edu

CLICK HERE TO BEGIN YOUR SEARCH