John B. Cade Library
Technical Assistance
Off-Campus Access
The EZ Proxy system allows off-campus access to information resources that are restricted to Southern University students, faculty, and staff. EZProxy allows your-off-campus computer to be identified as a part of the university network.
If you are not on-campus you will be prompted by EZProxy to enter the following:
USERID (or ALTID)=Banner Identification Number
Example: U0123456
PIN=CHANGEME
Technical Support
If you have any problems accessing databases remotely please contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841, or contact Ms. Payne at (225)771-2604.
Library Services
The Ask Here Desk/Information is staffed with librarians who can help you brainstorm research topics, find sources, and answer any relative questions you have. Contact the Ask Here Desk at (225) 771-2841.
Library Liaisons
John B. Cade Library Liaisons provide students, faculty, and staff specialized assistance in their areas of expertise, supporting academic programs at Southern University.
Reference Appointment Request
John B. Cade Library is pleased to offer reference appointments to Distance Learner Students. Distance Learner Students may set-up individual appointments with librarians in order to receive in-depth research assistance in the selection of books, databases and other library resources or services. Basic appointments can run 30 minutes to an hour. Appointments can be held via SKYPE, by phone, or email.
Virtual Reference Appointment Request
The Virtual Reference services allow distance learners to schedule an appointment with a librarian.
Phone Request
Phone the Ask Here Desk for research or reference assistance at (225)771-2841. Librarians are available to answer your reference or research queries.
Group Study Rooms
Did you know that Group Study Rooms are available at John B. Cade Library?
(Groups of 4-6 people)
2 Group Study Rooms are available in the Reference Reading Room located on the 1st floor of the library. Study Rooms are available for brainstorming, group work, presentation rehearsal, etc. Space is available on a first come first serve basis. You will need to present a current Southern University Identification Card to reserve a room.
If you have any questions contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841.
Individual Study Carrels (1-2 people)
Study Carrels are available for check-out at the 1st Floor Ask Here Desk. Study carrels are located on the 2nd floor of the library and provides a computer and desk for students who need a quiet place to study.
You will need your current SU ID Card to reserve a study carrel at the 1st floor Ask Here Desk. If you have any question please contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841.
John B. Cade Library
Library Hours
FALL/SPRING
| Monday- Thursday | 7:30 am-12:00 Midnight |
| Friday | 7:30 am-5:00 pm |
| Saturday | 1:00-5:00 pm |
Library Services
- Ingenta ConnectIngenta Connect is a pay per use service provided free of charge to SU Graduate Students to locate articles not found in the library's collection. Please allow 24-48 hours for request to be processed. Please contact Ms. Payne if you have any questions at (225)771- 2604.
- Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary Loan is a system in which John B. Cade Library borrows a book (resources not found in the library's collection) from another library per the student's request. Interlibrary Loan request usually takes 2-4 weeks. If you need assistance please contact Ms. Linda Forsythe at (225) 771-2855.
- LALINCLALINC is a service that offer SU Graduate Students borrow materials from other Louisiana academic Libraries. Graduate students must complete an application. For more questions please contact Ms. Linda Forsythe at (225)771-2855.
- LALINC Application Request FormUse this link to submit a request for a LALINC Card. Request can take 24-48 hours.
Tablets
Apple iPads and Amazon Kindles are available for check-out at the 1st Floor Ask Here Desk. You will need a current Southern University ID Card to check-out a Kindle. For more information on checking-out an iPad, or Kindle please feel free to contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841.
Computer Labs
The Library has 2 computer labs located on the 2nd floor of the library.
InformationTechnology Center
Computer Lab 1: The Information Technology Center has Microsoft (Word, Exel, Powerpoint), 2 Plasma Televisions, 2 Group Study Rooms, 30+ Computers.
Computer Lab 2: Library Learning Resource Center has 65 computers, Microsoft (Word, Excel, Powerpoint), and 4 Scanners
Library Departments
- ArchivesArchives is the official repository for all records of the university that have enduring historical, administrative, or community significance. The Archives Collection includes: printed volumes, manuscripts, and photographs, prints, and other visual media. Telephone Number: (225) 771-2624.
- Camille Shade/Black Heritage DepartmentThe Black Heritage Collection was renamed the Camille Stivers Shade Collection in memoriam during Black History Month on Wednesday, February 8, 1995. Telephone Number: (225) 771-2843.
The Shade Collection was established to:
•Enhance the research efforts in the study of African-Americans in disciplines such as religion, philosophy, psychology, history, sports, sociology, law, politics, education, art, literature, medicine, science, and the military.
•Organize exhibits on various topics related to African Americans.
•Insure that future generations have access to important historical documents concerning African-Americans. - Circulation DepartmentThe Circulation Desk is the primary location to check out and return materials. Telephone Number: (225)771-2855.
- Government DocumentsThe John B. Cade Library is a land grant university library located in the 6th Congressional District. It was designated as a selective federal depository in 1952. As a selective depository library for the U.S. Government, the library receives free federal public documents, selected from all items listed in the “Basic Collection” and a majority of the items listed in the “Suggested Core Collection: Small Academic Library.” This program is outlined in Title 44 of the United States Code and is administered by the United States Government Printing Office. The library selects approximately 37% of available publications, mainly in areas supporting the educational and research missions of the University, as well as the needs of the general public in the 6th Congressional District of the U.S. Congress. Telephone Number: (225)771-0071.
- Music ListeningThe Music Listening Center provides an environment for students, faculty and staff to listen to required classroom assignments, as well as various musical selections of their choice. The center is available for students, faculty, staff, Southern University alumni, and the general public. Materials from this collection must be used within the center unless special permission is granted to take materials out. Telephone Number: (225) 771-2886.
- Office of the Dean of LibrariesThe Office of the Dean of Libraries is located on the 2nd floor of the Library. This office is responsible for the overall management and administration of the John B. Cade Library. Telephone Number: (225)771-4991
- Reference DepartmentThe Reference Department is located on the first floor of the John B. Cade Library. The Department has electronic resources and a comprehensive collection of print titles. Professional librarians and competent assistants are available and ready to provide personal assistance. Telephone Number: (225) 771-2841.
- Systems & Technology DepartmentThe Systems and Technology Office is responsible for developing, acquiring and maintaining automated resources. The purpose of this office is: (1) to provide technology that will assist the University in meeting the research and informational needs; (2) to train students, faculty, and staff in using the automated resources of the library; (3) to coordinate, plan, fully implement and maintain the Management System; and (4) to keep abreast of new technology that can be used to improve services offered by the Library. Telephone Number: (225)771-4934, or (225)771-2604.
- Technical ServicesThe Technical Services Department is responsible for obtaining and processing all books and other resources for the Library. The department has four units: (1) Acquisitions ordering, receiving, claiming, and processing statistical reports) as well as gifts and exchange, (2) Serial and Library Binding, repairing or replacement of worn or damaged materials, (3) Cataloging -bibliographic control, cataloging, and database Management - monitoring and updating database information, (4) Physical End Processing – securing ownership to all library resources purchased. Telephone Number: (225) 771-0071.